mirror metallics - effects by essie

good as gold

a guaranteed gold metallic.

$$9.99 Suggested Retail PriceBuy Online

all that glitters is all you need. not just a flash in the pan, this gold metallic nail polish is guaranteed to deliver megawatt manicures. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free


Nail art
<
>


good as gold is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Pretty! First off, this polish has quirks. Metallic and chrome polishes like to chip, and they don't like base coats. I would recommend trying to put on some form of top or clear coat on after two thin coats of Penny Talk, as that's what I've found works best for me. The color is beautiful, and (I think) wearable on all skin tones, for all occasions! I would recommend this for anyone who wants a color that's a little different, without taking a plunge into some of the really dramatic colors!
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Formula! I was apprehensive about this polish, because I had another metallic that was difficult to use. But Good as Gold definitely stood up to its name. Went on smoothly and beautifully; you could probably pull this off in just one coat, because the coverage is so great.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My hallmark color I tried Nothing Else Metals about four years ago trying to replace a brand and color i had worn for years but now was retired. Love at first sight! Fabulous reflexive color that glides on smoothly and stays for weeks. I get many compliments on this shade with sandals in Florida. In fact, I sent a bottle to rural Montana where my brother will stripe his yellow street rod with it. Nothing else gores on my toes!
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected from Essie I couldn't believe it when a friend said this color was terrible - I own more than 60 Essie shades, and they're all incredible. So I tried it. Very difficult to apply without streaks or clumps, and sometimes a brush stroke would drag the polish right off the nail. A topcoat didn't improve the uneven look, and it was chipped by the next morning.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, eye catching color Just got my nails done today, was very skeptical about getting a metallic color polish since I've never gotten one before, but I love it!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I only bought this a few days ago when I saw it at Target because I LOVE the color rose gold. I must have gotten the best batch ever because I could probably wear this with only one coat. It lasted longer than just a few days for me, unlike some of the other reviews.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this polish...the colour is great it dries quickly and goes on smooth!
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to apply and bad formula! This nail polish is extremely hard to apply! When you apply it, if the polish overlaps itself at all it takes the polish off the nail! It is also extreamly streaky. It's such a shame because the color is gorgeous
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love This is a color I would do again. It's eye catching and sexy.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color, hard to make even I've always found metals hard to work with but I decided the color of this one made it worth a shot. It applies very evenly but requires two coats to make it completely smooth. However any dents in the nail or bubbles in the polish show through. Overall though I like the color and the texture of the polish is something I can live with :)
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing color! I am borrowing this color from a friend, and it is so pigmented and shiny, I only needed one coat of this for it to be completely opaque. Unfortunately it does chip quite a bit and I get maybe 3-4 days out of it, but over all I love this nail polish!
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silver, Precious Silver Simply stated, I adore this delectable shade. I just can't get enough of it! In order to achieve a smooth appearance, I follow these steps: (1) apply a good base coat to clean, dry nails and allow it to dry completely; (2) apply a moderate first coat and allow it to dry completely for approximately one hour (yes, 60 minutes); (3) apply a solid second coat that is a bit thicker than the first coat and allow it to dry completely for approximately one hour (yes, another 60 minutes); and (4) apply Essie's top coat (don't skimp) and allow it to dry completely. For best results, don't allow your nails to touch or be touched by anything at all during the entire process until Step 4 has dried - completely! Exercise patience and you will reap the dividends of a beautiful manicure.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from garbage The color is so pretty but the formula is trash. Even with a really good base coat it shows lines on my nails. It's really clumpy and bubbly.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wanted to Love this so bad! I've been looking for a soft metallic shade and thought I'd found it with this. The color itself is gorgeous. My complaint is the way it goes on. It looks streaky and just not clean at all. I've ended up using it for a pedicure but as many times as I've tried it on my hands (doing it myself and at the salon) it never comes out looking nice. The hunt continues :-(
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bold, bold, bold! I am obsessed with this metallic colour! This colour dries with a matte finish and super pigmented gold metallic colour. It adds a lot of edge to your look and can work any season. This metallic colour dried surprisingly quick and lasted for days. This polish also looks great with an Essie top coat if you want the shiny look. I received this product free for review purposes.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good as Gold When I received this colour for free in an Influenster VoxBox, I didn’t expect to like it too much. I like bold colours on my nails, but sometimes find metallics clash with my light skin tone. However, this polish wasn’t too overwhelming and went on nicely on my toes. Unlike some polishes I’ve tried, it didn’t chip easily and it didn’t require a lot of coats. It went on smoothly too. I will definitely wear it again.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST COLOR EVER I bought this online a while ago and I love it! You only need one coat and it's vet metallic. I'm almost out and will need to order more
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love at first sight when I first saw this gorgeous rose gold color, i knew I had to have it and I rushed off to the store to buy myself a bottle. It looks FANTASTIC. It was my favorite shade until I discovered for the twill of it. easily one of my nail staples.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colour I received this colour in a complimentary Essie Voxbox from Influenster to test out, and I am absolutely in love! Goes on nice and smooth, it's not too thick or too thin, and it dried relatively fast! I'm liking Essie more than some of the "high end" polishes I have tried.I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stunning beautiful colour Love this shiny gold colour, it's nice for the fall/winter all over or as an accent nail.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the color The color is perfect, and it dries very quickly if you apply relatively thin coats - that surprised me a lot when I first tried it on. 2 even coats does the job. But it chips really easily (I use top coat). Maybe with gel setter (which I haven't tried yet) it'll chip less.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful! I have never tried any metallic shades from Essie but I was so impressed with this shade, Good as Gold. This goes on smoothly and is so opaque you could get away with only one coat. The finish is just lovely as well. If you love metallic shades, and know that gold polishes work with your skin tone, I recommend this shade. This shade pairs lovely with "Blanc" for nail art! (I received this product to test and review.)
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from never gotten so many compliments on my nails! This is my new favorite nail polish color! It is an eye catcher without being too dramatic and when I wear it I'm constantly getting compliments on it. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this polish! it also seems to dry faster than other essie colors
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't think I would like it I received this product for free from Influenster in exchange for a reviewWhen I received the gold colour in my voxbox, I didn't think it would work. But it does actually go with a few of my Essie shades. It barely needs a second coat. Even with a top coat, it did chip after two days. But, it looks good!
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing color I've seen this all over Pinterest and I HAVE to get it. It's so pretty and I love the metallic color.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic! I love this metallic polish - it is like liquid gold. It can be opaque with one coat, but I think I prefer two for a more concentrated colour. It's stunning. I need more from this line!I received this polish in Influenster's Essie Voxbox in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great colour - opaque! I really like this colour. Very shiny and goes on opaque, there is no need for a layer of white polish underneath as you would need for some glitter/metallic colours. It looks classy and not childish so I would definitely wear it out to a party. I've also noticed there is no chipping.Disclaimer: I received this product for free but was not compensated for this post. However, I am creating this post as part of a contest.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST chrome polish EVER!!! Being a chic with a year round punk style AND a biker half the year I've owned almost every "chrome" polish there is. When I spotted this on Essie's website I thought it looked fabulous and hoped that I could score it locally. Thank goodness my local Walgreens had it...and I'm in LOVE!!! This truly IS CHROME POLISH!!! The finish puts others to shame and I've just found out that it seems to dry pretty darn fast! This just intensify's my ESSIE addiction!
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful color!!!!
Date published: 2016-02-11
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_CA, sid_AF103818-4CBE-4A1F-9310-CD5C94F50FB2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie-canada