mirror metallics - effects by essie

good as gold

a guaranteed gold metallic.

$$9.99 Suggested Retail PriceBuy Online

all that glitters is all you need. not just a flash in the pan, this gold metallic nail polish is guaranteed to deliver megawatt manicures. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free


Nail art
<
>


good as gold is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 83.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silver, Precious Silver Simply stated, I adore this delectable shade. I just can't get enough of it! In order to achieve a smooth appearance, I follow these steps: (1) apply a good base coat to clean, dry nails and allow it to dry completely; (2) apply a moderate first coat and allow it to dry completely for approximately one hour (yes, 60 minutes); (3) apply a solid second coat that is a bit thicker than the first coat and allow it to dry completely for approximately one hour (yes, another 60 minutes); and (4) apply Essie's top coat (don't skimp) and allow it to dry completely. For best results, don't allow your nails to touch or be touched by anything at all during the entire process until Step 4 has dried - completely! Exercise patience and you will reap the dividends of a beautiful manicure.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from garbage The color is so pretty but the formula is trash. Even with a really good base coat it shows lines on my nails. It's really clumpy and bubbly.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wanted to Love this so bad! I've been looking for a soft metallic shade and thought I'd found it with this. The color itself is gorgeous. My complaint is the way it goes on. It looks streaky and just not clean at all. I've ended up using it for a pedicure but as many times as I've tried it on my hands (doing it myself and at the salon) it never comes out looking nice. The hunt continues :-(
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bold, bold, bold! I am obsessed with this metallic colour! This colour dries with a matte finish and super pigmented gold metallic colour. It adds a lot of edge to your look and can work any season. This metallic colour dried surprisingly quick and lasted for days. This polish also looks great with an Essie top coat if you want the shiny look. I received this product free for review purposes.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good as Gold When I received this colour for free in an Influenster VoxBox, I didn’t expect to like it too much. I like bold colours on my nails, but sometimes find metallics clash with my light skin tone. However, this polish wasn’t too overwhelming and went on nicely on my toes. Unlike some polishes I’ve tried, it didn’t chip easily and it didn’t require a lot of coats. It went on smoothly too. I will definitely wear it again.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST COLOR EVER I bought this online a while ago and I love it! You only need one coat and it's vet metallic. I'm almost out and will need to order more
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love at first sight when I first saw this gorgeous rose gold color, i knew I had to have it and I rushed off to the store to buy myself a bottle. It looks FANTASTIC. It was my favorite shade until I discovered for the twill of it. easily one of my nail staples.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colour I received this colour in a complimentary Essie Voxbox from Influenster to test out, and I am absolutely in love! Goes on nice and smooth, it's not too thick or too thin, and it dried relatively fast! I'm liking Essie more than some of the "high end" polishes I have tried.I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stunning beautiful colour Love this shiny gold colour, it's nice for the fall/winter all over or as an accent nail.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the color The color is perfect, and it dries very quickly if you apply relatively thin coats - that surprised me a lot when I first tried it on. 2 even coats does the job. But it chips really easily (I use top coat). Maybe with gel setter (which I haven't tried yet) it'll chip less.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful! I have never tried any metallic shades from Essie but I was so impressed with this shade, Good as Gold. This goes on smoothly and is so opaque you could get away with only one coat. The finish is just lovely as well. If you love metallic shades, and know that gold polishes work with your skin tone, I recommend this shade. This shade pairs lovely with "Blanc" for nail art! (I received this product to test and review.)
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from never gotten so many compliments on my nails! This is my new favorite nail polish color! It is an eye catcher without being too dramatic and when I wear it I'm constantly getting compliments on it. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this polish! it also seems to dry faster than other essie colors
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't think I would like it I received this product for free from Influenster in exchange for a reviewWhen I received the gold colour in my voxbox, I didn't think it would work. But it does actually go with a few of my Essie shades. It barely needs a second coat. Even with a top coat, it did chip after two days. But, it looks good!
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing color I've seen this all over Pinterest and I HAVE to get it. It's so pretty and I love the metallic color.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic! I love this metallic polish - it is like liquid gold. It can be opaque with one coat, but I think I prefer two for a more concentrated colour. It's stunning. I need more from this line!I received this polish in Influenster's Essie Voxbox in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great colour - opaque! I really like this colour. Very shiny and goes on opaque, there is no need for a layer of white polish underneath as you would need for some glitter/metallic colours. It looks classy and not childish so I would definitely wear it out to a party. I've also noticed there is no chipping.Disclaimer: I received this product for free but was not compensated for this post. However, I am creating this post as part of a contest.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST chrome polish EVER!!! Being a chic with a year round punk style AND a biker half the year I've owned almost every "chrome" polish there is. When I spotted this on Essie's website I thought it looked fabulous and hoped that I could score it locally. Thank goodness my local Walgreens had it...and I'm in LOVE!!! This truly IS CHROME POLISH!!! The finish puts others to shame and I've just found out that it seems to dry pretty darn fast! This just intensify's my ESSIE addiction!
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it I love the colour. In some light it is more of a rose gold. It is absolutely gorgeous. I just purchased this colour and it is now my all time favourite. I'll need to stalk up.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weak but beautiful Despite reading negative reviews, I bought this polish anyways hoping it wouldn't be true (because it's soo pretty). But it's true, this is a weak polish that chipped on the first day. I even used a thick layer of my best top coat.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and fast-drying I bought this on a whim and am so glad I did. It is such a beautiful rose gold color and has a nice metallic sheen. It applied easily and without streaks. I only put one coat on and it looks great. Dried super fast, too. Love how it looks with my light olive complexion. So happy.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fast drying & great color this has been my favorite Essie color forever. dries in just a few minutes and is the perfect shade of gold. honestly I don't get how it dries so fast but I always use it when I need to paint my nails quickly
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shade like no other! This is the best quick dry, metallic shade I have ever tried. Always get compliments from people all around the world. I've been through quite a number of bottles already. Addicted forever!
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Opaque I bought this recently to go with 'berry naughty' as an accent. Though it looks more silvery in some lighting, it's still a wonderful addition to my collection. But most of all I was surprised at how opaque it was with just a single coat! One swipe was enough, even over this deep plum shade.
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GORGEOUS color - won't go on perfectly I absolutely love this rose gold/copper color!! It goes on smoothly but will show every line and imperfection. That being said, the color is worth it! Don't use this color as a quick application. Give yourself the time to do a proper manicure and there won't be any issues! I did not have issues with chipping but I put a top coat on every other day and that may be helpful for this one! LOVE LOVE LOVE!! Great color even for court each day!
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is my favorite nail color, and it's especially great for Fall and Winter when you don't always want to wear a dark color. It also lasts a long time on my nails <3
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color = AMAZING. longevity = ziltch. I'm giving this 2.5 stars because the color alone is just a stunner; however, without a top coat this will start fading/rubbing off (not really chipping) in a couple hours. With a top coat, it still doesn't last very long, unfortunately (2-3 days). I would recommend though simply based on the color and shine of it. Gets lots of compliments, but I've never seen a polish fade SO FAST. Definitely needs a quality top coat to last beyond the morning.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from mixed feelings about this one! This really is not one of essie best polishes but it is definitely not the worst! I goes on nicely in one coat but it is very streaky and when you put on another layer to cover up the streaks it just adds more. But it's been holding up pretty well! I had it on for about a week now and there is only a minimal amount of chipping. To other people it looks beautiful because you can't really see the streaks until your'e very close. So if you want a polish other people will love and your have the strength to not be bothered by the way it looks up close then this is the polish for you!
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gold, good and great Lovely finish and great to apply. The Essie shades have a large variety and are available in many dreamy colors.Wear it and be surprised as to how good it is!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful color I bought this on "clearance" at the local pharmacy. I thought it was pretty in the bottle. Only after I applied both coats did I totally fall in love with the color! I will definitely wear again and again!
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from How is this so highly rated?? Maybe I got a bad batch or something because this is quite possibly the WORST essie polish I have ever used (and I own easily a couple dozen colors). But it's streaky and clumpy and it is sooooo hard to apply evenly. Even with a good base and top coat, I can barely get it to look halfway normal which is really disappointing because I am a huge fan of this color. I wish it performed half as well as the metallics from Orly. But this was a complete dud for me.
Date published: 2015-02-27
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_83
  • loc_en_CA, sid_AF103818-4CBE-4A1F-9310-CD5C94F50FB2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie-canada