gel•setter™ top coat - nail care solutions

gel.setter

gel.like colour and shine day after day

$10.00 Suggested Retail PriceBuy Online

everything you love about gels, but in a perfect top coat you can wear anywhere and everywhere. gel.setter tops any of your favorite essie colours with all the cushy rock-hard shine of a gel in a foolproof formula for your manis and pedis
DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free




gel.setter is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 337.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Top Coat Product I first used this about a year ago, and haven't turned back. I'm very rough with my hands day-to-day, but always have them done up in a bright red, so chips (used to) stand out quite a bit. Since starting with this gel coat, chips are at a minimum, and super simple to repair if they do happen. Just make sure you don't put on a thick coat- goopy isn't good. Stock up whenever it's on sale!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Followed Essie instructions, still chipped/peeled Had trouble with chip-peel within 1-day of applying this top-coat (used "good to go" - loved it and thought I'd try this new product) . Found this page with info on Gel Setter. Followed instructions and still had same problem. Have lots of Essie colors and love them all - but this product is priced higher than "good to go" and does NOT work as advertised on this Essie web page.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Setter I just bought this - works great. I've been filing all day and not a chip! Not only that but I put the gel setter coat on 1/2 hour before I went to bed and it was completely dry! When I woke up, my manicure was still perfect. This is huge for me!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the worst top coat I've ever purchased I've used this top coat twice. Both times, my nails started chipping in less than 12 hours. I'm a big fan of Essie, but my mani lasts longer without a top coat than with this one. To say that this sets polish like gel is a complete farce. Stick with the standard Essie top coat.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just recently tried this product a d am very pleased. This gel setter keeps polish chip free for at least two days. For me that's a record. I generally don't make it more than a few hours. I touch up the color and add a fresh coat of gel setter every day and I can stretch a manicure to 1 week. Thanks Essie!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the price As I always love Essie products, I bought this top coat a couple of days ago. I am very disappointed. The top coat chipped off COMPLETELY after two days, along with the nail polish color... This was unexpected.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me! I really like Essie's Gel Setter. It has made the difference between giving myself an amateur manicure to my nails looking like I just stepped out of the salon and for a fraction of the cost.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WAS great... When I first purchased this it worked perfect, I loved it! Unfortunately, after about 5 uses I noticed it started to get thicker. It finally got so thick I was unable to use it. I haven't used it for months, but wasn't expecting it to age that quick.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chip chip chip! Manicures start chipping hours within finishing a top coat of gel setter, and keeps on chipping. Sure its shiny, but offers absolutely no durability. Would not buy again.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great at first...but getting hard to use This was great top coat at the beginning. It performed as it claims and does extend the life of your polish. And the shine is awesome!However, the last few times I did use it. It was getting really thick and stringy. I managed to apply it evenly this time. I think I've had the bottle for less than 6 months, and it's only a quarter used. Not sure how much longer it can hold on to its awesome characteristics.
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the gel settet I use it faithfully. I can usually get a good solid week out of a mani. Much longer from a pedi. The botitle is half full now and kind of gummy. What can I do to fix it? I'd hate to throw it out.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best top coat ever Bought this abroad on a trip and realized it was the best top coat ever! It really makes your nails look like they were professionally done and lasts a lot longer than average. Can't apply it directly to your nails, as it will peal - some other critics seam to have had this problem... but this is advertised as a top coat, and as that, it is just perfect.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful i never write reviews but this was the worst product that i have ever purchased. peeled off within 12 hours no matter how i used it....
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was really excited to try this nail polish when it came out. However, I only was able to use it once before it coagulated. The next time I tried to use it, it was impossible. Stringy, thick, and uneven. I ended up re-polishing the few nails I attempted to use it on, but was left with such a mess. Such a disappointing product from a company I love so much.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful. French mani lasted less than 12 hours, peeled off in chunks. same thing just happened on one toe! Less than 48 hours for that! Do not waste your money, this is the worst topcoat ever. On my way out of town with effed up nails and toes. Thanks Essie.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's a miracle! as a long-time home 'manicurist' this is a real miracle! where do i begin??1) can be used over any polish - tho i LOVE essie & all their fab colors and do have a few2) dries so, so fast - no sheet marks EVER!3) super shiny & lasts a good long time4) if your color polish has bubbled, this polish gets rid of those annoying bubbles - even the next day!see, it truly is a miracle :)
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than a salon gel manicure! I put this over all my nail polishes. Even though I type all day, cook like a fiend, and wash my hands at last 12x per day, my manicures last from 8-10 days. Wahoo! Why pay for an expensive salon gel manicure when I can do it myself? It is thick and sticky, and Ihave found that as the bottle gets older (3 months), it is too sticky to use. So I basically only get to use half the bottle before I have to buy a new one.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product Thought it was supposed to be good ha......on our drive to app.a little nick showed on my nail, by touching just a little I ended up peeling my whole manicure off.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't last like gel This doesn't last like gel at all. I normally wear gel polish and can do dishes, clean, etc. without chipping. This lasted less than a day.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this top coat ALL the time! Best ever! I use a machine at work that involves water and using my nails to scrape. My nails still look as good on day three or four as they did day one!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love, but wished it would last Great amazing, I love this top coat. My only issue is that the polish goes really goopy and old too quick. I've purchased two bottles in the last three months. I've yet to get to the bottom of the bottle. However I love the way it looks so I keep purchasing.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this gel setter so much. I only have one complaint...it gets goopy before you can use more than about half of the bottle (and I paint my nails A LOT). I realize Essie makes money on it because people have to re-purchase; but I'd much rather pay a little less for a smaller bottle and not feel like I'm wasting my money! I would buy it again and again if I could use it until it ran out.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should not belong to the Essie family I am an Essie nail enamels' lover specifically becuase their products are the ones that most lasts when I manicure at home. But unfortunately I can't say the same about the gel setter top coat. I can't believe the poor quality of this top coat, it shouldn't be sold by such a repectable and prestigious brand like Essie. I have done 2 manicuress already and the enamel hasn't last intact more than 24 hours (including 8 hours sleeping) and I am a full time dish washer user. Very disapointed and heartbroken by Essie
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't set and chipped after a day This is the worst. Tried Sally Hansen Gel and 10x better
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nothing good to say... Each time I used Essie Gel Setter my polish peeled off my nails in one solid piece. I could've glued them back on like stickers. I tried different combinations each time with the same result. I found the polish to be overly thick, super stringy out of the bottle, and dried quicker than I could apply it. So dissatisfied.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this with high hopes but it didn't even last one full day. I used with Essie nail polish but it started chipping the very next day . Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nail polish chipped within a day I bought two bottles of the gel top coat after reading good reviews about it. I have used it a few times and have been deceived each time. The texture is thick and "stringy". Even after using First Base and an Essie nail polish, my manicure chipped within a day. I pay attention to let my nails dry before doing anything. I love my Essie nail polish but can't say the same about this product.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have ever used I just purchased this per advice from a friend. I applied Essie Grow Faster base coat, two coats of Essie polish, and the Essie gel setter top coat. I am on day 5 and still don't have 1 chip. I am just starting to see the signs of a tiny lift in the back so I bet I will get about 6-7 days out of this and I type a lot on the computer. Two things- I don't keep my nails too long; and I also waited until my nails were almost completely dry before applying the top coat! Love it!
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love love love this gel setter. I bought it for the first time back in march and use it for every single essie colour i wear. It makes my nails so shiny and last at least 4-5 days longer then the average nail wear.However, my gel start getting really gooy the last month or so. Its super disappointing cause now it goes on all chunky. Anyone else experience this or know why mine went bad so fast?
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from LIKE GLUE! I bought this thinking it would be a great topcoat and it comes out of the bottle thick like glue. It even leaves strings of polish as I pull it out of the jar. It goes on so thick that it actually leaves bubbles on my nails. What's up!!??
Date published: 2016-06-28
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_337
  • loc_en_CA, sid_C290AFC2-C3A0-4120-AC0E-0FEEAFEA0DE1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie-canada