gel•setter™ top coat - nail care solutions

gel.setter

gel.like colour and shine day after day

$10.00 Suggested Retail PriceBuy Online

everything you love about gels, but in a perfect top coat you can wear anywhere and everywhere. gel.setter tops any of your favorite essie colours with all the cushy rock-hard shine of a gel in a foolproof formula for your manis and pedis
DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free




gel.setter is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 345.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This product goes bad quickly. It got too thick in consistency to even apply, so I wouldn't recommend unless you like wasting money.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this top coat! I take it with me to the salon and they put it on right over my nail polish, and it gives my nails a gel-like shine, with more protection too against chipping. I work with my hands everyday and somehow, even though I still have to be at least somewhat careful, I've managed to finish with barely any chips after 7 days. I'm just going to trim my nails and put another coat gel coat on top to freshen the shine and protection and I should be good for another week. And the best part is that you get all of that without the damag.e of true gel nail polish, even tho its definitely no replacement of that, but it is a cheaper alternative if you're a little careful
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I bought this the day before my birthday. I got Model Clicks for my nail color and a different nail color from a different brand (which sucked and peeled off three days later .It lasted about almost a week and half before it started to peel!
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm addicted Every lady needs this, it just takes your mani to the next level!Makes it last over a week, makes them dry so quickly and they just look perfect!
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chipped within hours I had hoped this would help my polish last a few days because my Essie's polishes always chip. Despite following the directions however my nails were already chipped in a few short hours
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan I bought this thinking it was be great like the rest of Essie nail polish, which I love but was highly disappointed. I have tried it a few times and it chips within 12-24 hours each time. It also doesn't give that gel finish I was expecting and paid for. I have had other regular top coats that give more of a gel finish than this one. Still love Essie coloured polishes but would not buy this again and it is not worth the extra cost.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Top Coat Ever I finally bit the bullet and bought this the other day, and am SO glad that I did! This is the best top coat I've ever used! I've been using Nicole by OPI top coats for a few years now, and it ALWAYS bubbled on my nails. I'm now a total Essie convert! I'm so impressed by this topcoat alone. Even though it's on the thicker side when applied, I had absolutely NO bubbling with this top coat at all. It dried SUPER fast too! It's super strong and chip resistant, and looks just like gel nails! Love it! Thanks Essie! Super recommend!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great! Until it gets goopy... First of all, let me just say I love this topcoat.. for the first few uses. In my experience, this product got very goopy very fast. It's already such a thick formula, which is great for giving that thick gel layer, but once it gets any thicker it is just SO difficult to work with. I'm not a professional but I am quite good at painting my own nails and always have them done, but I just have had so much trouble getting this to spread anymore. It gonglomerates at the tips of my nails and is so hard to smooth out once the actual product in the bottle gets dry at all. Breaks my heart because I only got through less than half of the bottle!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Top Coat Product I first used this about a year ago, and haven't turned back. I'm very rough with my hands day-to-day, but always have them done up in a bright red, so chips (used to) stand out quite a bit. Since starting with this gel coat, chips are at a minimum, and super simple to repair if they do happen. Just make sure you don't put on a thick coat- goopy isn't good. Stock up whenever it's on sale!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Followed Essie instructions, still chipped/peeled Had trouble with chip-peel within 1-day of applying this top-coat (used "good to go" - loved it and thought I'd try this new product) . Found this page with info on Gel Setter. Followed instructions and still had same problem. Have lots of Essie colors and love them all - but this product is priced higher than "good to go" and does NOT work as advertised on this Essie web page.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Setter I just bought this - works great. I've been filing all day and not a chip! Not only that but I put the gel setter coat on 1/2 hour before I went to bed and it was completely dry! When I woke up, my manicure was still perfect. This is huge for me!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the worst top coat I've ever purchased I've used this top coat twice. Both times, my nails started chipping in less than 12 hours. I'm a big fan of Essie, but my mani lasts longer without a top coat than with this one. To say that this sets polish like gel is a complete farce. Stick with the standard Essie top coat.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just recently tried this product a d am very pleased. This gel setter keeps polish chip free for at least two days. For me that's a record. I generally don't make it more than a few hours. I touch up the color and add a fresh coat of gel setter every day and I can stretch a manicure to 1 week. Thanks Essie!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the price As I always love Essie products, I bought this top coat a couple of days ago. I am very disappointed. The top coat chipped off COMPLETELY after two days, along with the nail polish color... This was unexpected.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me! I really like Essie's Gel Setter. It has made the difference between giving myself an amateur manicure to my nails looking like I just stepped out of the salon and for a fraction of the cost.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WAS great... When I first purchased this it worked perfect, I loved it! Unfortunately, after about 5 uses I noticed it started to get thicker. It finally got so thick I was unable to use it. I haven't used it for months, but wasn't expecting it to age that quick.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chip chip chip! Manicures start chipping hours within finishing a top coat of gel setter, and keeps on chipping. Sure its shiny, but offers absolutely no durability. Would not buy again.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great at first...but getting hard to use This was great top coat at the beginning. It performed as it claims and does extend the life of your polish. And the shine is awesome!However, the last few times I did use it. It was getting really thick and stringy. I managed to apply it evenly this time. I think I've had the bottle for less than 6 months, and it's only a quarter used. Not sure how much longer it can hold on to its awesome characteristics.
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the gel settet I use it faithfully. I can usually get a good solid week out of a mani. Much longer from a pedi. The botitle is half full now and kind of gummy. What can I do to fix it? I'd hate to throw it out.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best top coat ever Bought this abroad on a trip and realized it was the best top coat ever! It really makes your nails look like they were professionally done and lasts a lot longer than average. Can't apply it directly to your nails, as it will peal - some other critics seam to have had this problem... but this is advertised as a top coat, and as that, it is just perfect.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful i never write reviews but this was the worst product that i have ever purchased. peeled off within 12 hours no matter how i used it....
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was really excited to try this nail polish when it came out. However, I only was able to use it once before it coagulated. The next time I tried to use it, it was impossible. Stringy, thick, and uneven. I ended up re-polishing the few nails I attempted to use it on, but was left with such a mess. Such a disappointing product from a company I love so much.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful. French mani lasted less than 12 hours, peeled off in chunks. same thing just happened on one toe! Less than 48 hours for that! Do not waste your money, this is the worst topcoat ever. On my way out of town with effed up nails and toes. Thanks Essie.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's a miracle! as a long-time home 'manicurist' this is a real miracle! where do i begin??1) can be used over any polish - tho i LOVE essie & all their fab colors and do have a few2) dries so, so fast - no sheet marks EVER!3) super shiny & lasts a good long time4) if your color polish has bubbled, this polish gets rid of those annoying bubbles - even the next day!see, it truly is a miracle :)
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than a salon gel manicure! I put this over all my nail polishes. Even though I type all day, cook like a fiend, and wash my hands at last 12x per day, my manicures last from 8-10 days. Wahoo! Why pay for an expensive salon gel manicure when I can do it myself? It is thick and sticky, and Ihave found that as the bottle gets older (3 months), it is too sticky to use. So I basically only get to use half the bottle before I have to buy a new one.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product Thought it was supposed to be good ha......on our drive to app.a little nick showed on my nail, by touching just a little I ended up peeling my whole manicure off.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't last like gel This doesn't last like gel at all. I normally wear gel polish and can do dishes, clean, etc. without chipping. This lasted less than a day.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this top coat ALL the time! Best ever! I use a machine at work that involves water and using my nails to scrape. My nails still look as good on day three or four as they did day one!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love, but wished it would last Great amazing, I love this top coat. My only issue is that the polish goes really goopy and old too quick. I've purchased two bottles in the last three months. I've yet to get to the bottom of the bottle. However I love the way it looks so I keep purchasing.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this gel setter so much. I only have one complaint...it gets goopy before you can use more than about half of the bottle (and I paint my nails A LOT). I realize Essie makes money on it because people have to re-purchase; but I'd much rather pay a little less for a smaller bottle and not feel like I'm wasting my money! I would buy it again and again if I could use it until it ran out.
Date published: 2016-07-28
  • y_2017, m_7, d_17, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_345
  • loc_en_CA, sid_C290AFC2-C3A0-4120-AC0E-0FEEAFEA0DE1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie-canada