gel•setter™ top coat - nail care solutions

gel.setter

gel.like colour and shine day after day

$10.00 Suggested Retail PriceBuy Online

everything you love about gels, but in a perfect top coat you can wear anywhere and everywhere. gel.setter tops any of your favorite essie colours with all the cushy rock-hard shine of a gel in a foolproof formula for your manis and pedis
DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free




gel.setter is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 363.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible, doesnt last at all! I tried this gelsetter and it was absolute horrible! I applied it and at first was really happy with the shine and feel. I applied it at night and the next day went to work, two hours in to my shift almost all my nails had chipped (used all Essie products, base, nailpolish and the setter and let it dry and set after every layer). I have a represtative job and my boss actually send me home because he saw and said it was unproffesional!! I was so ashamed and missed valuable hours.. overall horrible experience and never use or buying it again.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I’ve been using this since it came out. It’s been quick drying, easy to use since the brush is narrow, smooth & glossy, long lasting & doesn’t shrink. I’ve tried every brand & nothing compares.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Peels right off I've used this multiple times for multiple attempts after applying essie colored nail polish or solely as a top coat on top of buffered nails. Every time I apply it, it peels right off by the end of the day. I do not use my hands extensively and have never had difficulty with other essie nail polish. Do not recommend this nail polish Essie top coat gel setter.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just clear polish Did my nails sunday night... It's tuesday morning and they're chipped and gross. Fail. It dries faster, but wears like regular topcoat.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! BEST EVER! So I bought this about 6 months ago. I am an avid nail polisher, if that's a thing......LOL! In the past I could get my nails through almost a week without chipping. I was in the drugstore and came across the new Essie displays. I ended up getting a couple of new colors but knew I needed a top coat so I picked up the gel setter to see how it would do. NO JOKE, my manicure will last all of 2 full weeks without chipping. And I'm not easy on my nails. I mean because I have natural nails, I do take care of them but I do dishes, I clean house, etc. But my nails will show growth before they'll chip (and yes my nails grow FAST). I simply put on another coat of color to cover the growth, another coat of gel setter and there are your 2 weeks! I LOVE this stuff!!! I'm nearing the end of the bottle now. The only downside is when you near the end it does get really thick and harder to work with but I manage. I am getting a new bottle at the end of the week ;) ;) first time EVER that I'm rebuying a top coat! For SURE give this a try. Make sure you are working on clean, dry nails. Apply 1 or 2 coats of color and let them dry. Apply a layer of gel setter. The other up side to this is it does dry super fast! Oh! And SHINE FOR DAYS!!!! Have fun!
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Everything! This is my manicure answer! I bring this to my nail salon and use it as my top coat. My manicure last for a full week and than some. I've been in the water all week cleaning cooking and not one chip. You can even add another coat a few days after to extend your manicure even longer !!!! Love love love!!!!!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from AFTER A FEW USES IT GOOPS UP I've had this bottle for awhile. It does really well the first few times you use it. It dries quick, it is super shiny, but, after a while it started to string-up, thread like and get goopy and thick. The application was harder because of how thick it became. I'm not adding any thinners to it. That would be altering the formula. I'm giving this product 2 stars because it started off great but ended poorly. It could be awesome----please fix the problem. I added a picture from my computer. It shows an example of the issue. I love most of Essie's products. This is the first product I have ever been saddened by.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shine and dries quick I bought this product earlier today. I think it adds a lot of shine to any polish and it prevents chipping. People who complain about the peeling probably use their teeth or nails to peel it off but that should only happen if you have greasy nails since it will slide off. Use a nail polish remover and that should remove the grease and may prevent the peeling.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 50/50 I love it the first 5 times. After that it became clumpy. I always use Essie colors with the gel setter so I don't think that's the problem. I did paint my nails in front of a window so maybe the sun set it too fast?
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works After 30 years of having acrylic nails I was getting really fed up with poor service from the manicurists, like chipping and breaking a few days after my fill. I thought that by the 21st century there must be better products available to the public. I'd seen the Essie gel in the shops so went online to read the reviews. Seemed OK so I gave it a try. That was 10 months ago. I now have beautiful nails. And no chips or breaks. Once a week I do my nails. I remove the gel and polish easily with extra strength polish remover. First a coat of Essie Grow Faster base. Let it dry. Then my Essie polish. Maybe 2 coats. And finally a coat of gel setter. If I've been doing housework in the week I may need to touch up the gel. But that's it. Once a week for beautiful nails.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great top coat. Very durable. I have used this top coat for a couple months. I really like the smooth feeling of my nails and the shine. I do find that the last quarter of the bottle becomes too thick.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I had high hopes... I bought in a kit with Sunday Funday, great summer color. It kept getting tiny bubbles in top coat maybe because of the thickness. And was very sticky, I only used it 3 times.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shine! I just bought Gel Setter a couple weeks ago and every time I wear I get get comps on my gel manicure. They shine is awesome!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disapointed!! So I bought this some time ago and just came across that I can review it so here it is: I LOVE ESSIE! and all the colors they come out with so when I say that they were coming out with a gel polish that needed no lamp I was excited! When I finally bought and tried out I was disappointed in the fact that it didn't stay on long like a gel would normally, it started peeling the next day and not just pieces like the whole nail. I also thought it would dry a hard like a gel. I do like that it makes your nail color look nice and shiny and I'm sure this product could be improved to last longer. Still love Essie and will continue to buy!!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved it at first.... I loved the gel setter top coat when I first got it. I raved about it. Made my manicure last for almost two weeks. It was easy to put on and make my manicure look flawless. I pulled it out the other day to do my nails and it's gotten very thick and goopy. I store it in a cupboard away from light and heat so I'm not sure why it's thickened so much. I tried using it anyway but it made my entire manicure peel off. I've tried thinning it with nail lacquer thinner, but it's still too thick to put on properly. I really wanted this to work as my go to but I won't buy it again if it tends to get thick after it's been opened.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Peeling within 12 hours! I think this product must be faulty - it's already peeling and all I have done is sleep and shower since applying! Really disappointing . I have bought this twice before and it hasnt been so bad, but both of those bottles totally dried up meaning that half of the contents were totally wasted! They were stored at room temperature and not the lids were on. Such a shame.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Amazing gel like... but does not last for $$ Easy to apply for the first 2 months... after this it went to thick and when applying became very stringy like, almost applied like hot glue from a gun. Lost its value and worth quickly along with other nail polishes I have boughten from Essie
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I normally paint my nails every 2 to 3 days. I'm either in meetings or typing and can't afford to have chipped nails when meeting with important clients. This nail polish keeps my nails looking professionally done without a lot of fuss.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This product goes bad quickly. It got too thick in consistency to even apply, so I wouldn't recommend unless you like wasting money.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this top coat! I take it with me to the salon and they put it on right over my nail polish, and it gives my nails a gel-like shine, with more protection too against chipping. I work with my hands everyday and somehow, even though I still have to be at least somewhat careful, I've managed to finish with barely any chips after 7 days. I'm just going to trim my nails and put another coat gel coat on top to freshen the shine and protection and I should be good for another week. And the best part is that you get all of that without the damag.e of true gel nail polish, even tho its definitely no replacement of that, but it is a cheaper alternative if you're a little careful
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I bought this the day before my birthday. I got Model Clicks for my nail color and a different nail color from a different brand (which sucked and peeled off three days later .It lasted about almost a week and half before it started to peel!
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm addicted Every lady needs this, it just takes your mani to the next level!Makes it last over a week, makes them dry so quickly and they just look perfect!
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chipped within hours I had hoped this would help my polish last a few days because my Essie's polishes always chip. Despite following the directions however my nails were already chipped in a few short hours
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan I bought this thinking it was be great like the rest of Essie nail polish, which I love but was highly disappointed. I have tried it a few times and it chips within 12-24 hours each time. It also doesn't give that gel finish I was expecting and paid for. I have had other regular top coats that give more of a gel finish than this one. Still love Essie coloured polishes but would not buy this again and it is not worth the extra cost.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Top Coat Ever I finally bit the bullet and bought this the other day, and am SO glad that I did! This is the best top coat I've ever used! I've been using Nicole by OPI top coats for a few years now, and it ALWAYS bubbled on my nails. I'm now a total Essie convert! I'm so impressed by this topcoat alone. Even though it's on the thicker side when applied, I had absolutely NO bubbling with this top coat at all. It dried SUPER fast too! It's super strong and chip resistant, and looks just like gel nails! Love it! Thanks Essie! Super recommend!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great! Until it gets goopy... First of all, let me just say I love this topcoat.. for the first few uses. In my experience, this product got very goopy very fast. It's already such a thick formula, which is great for giving that thick gel layer, but once it gets any thicker it is just SO difficult to work with. I'm not a professional but I am quite good at painting my own nails and always have them done, but I just have had so much trouble getting this to spread anymore. It gonglomerates at the tips of my nails and is so hard to smooth out once the actual product in the bottle gets dry at all. Breaks my heart because I only got through less than half of the bottle!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Top Coat Product I first used this about a year ago, and haven't turned back. I'm very rough with my hands day-to-day, but always have them done up in a bright red, so chips (used to) stand out quite a bit. Since starting with this gel coat, chips are at a minimum, and super simple to repair if they do happen. Just make sure you don't put on a thick coat- goopy isn't good. Stock up whenever it's on sale!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Followed Essie instructions, still chipped/peeled Had trouble with chip-peel within 1-day of applying this top-coat (used "good to go" - loved it and thought I'd try this new product) . Found this page with info on Gel Setter. Followed instructions and still had same problem. Have lots of Essie colors and love them all - but this product is priced higher than "good to go" and does NOT work as advertised on this Essie web page.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Setter I just bought this - works great. I've been filing all day and not a chip! Not only that but I put the gel setter coat on 1/2 hour before I went to bed and it was completely dry! When I woke up, my manicure was still perfect. This is huge for me!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the worst top coat I've ever purchased I've used this top coat twice. Both times, my nails started chipping in less than 12 hours. I'm a big fan of Essie, but my mani lasts longer without a top coat than with this one. To say that this sets polish like gel is a complete farce. Stick with the standard Essie top coat.
Date published: 2016-11-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_363
  • loc_en_CA, sid_C290AFC2-C3A0-4120-AC0E-0FEEAFEA0DE1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie-canada